Showing posts with label reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label reviews. Show all posts

Sunday, December 30, 2012

2012: The Year I Changed What I Read

If you've been reading this blog for a while, you probably know that reading and reviewing technical books has been a key aspect since cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 blog's beginning in January 2003. In fact, my first blog post announced a review of a book on Border Gateway Protocol (BGP).
Looking at my previous reviews, it's clear that my interest in reading and reviewing technical books expired in cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 summer of 2011. Since cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365n, cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 only technical book I wanted to read and review was Michael W. Lucas' excellent SSH Mastery. MWL is such a great author that I read just about anything he writes, and I was interested in his first self-published technical work.
So what happened? Becoming CSO at Mandiant in April 2011 contributed to my changing interests. Since that time I've spoken to almost a hundred reporters and industry analysts, and hundreds of customers and prospects, answering cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365ir questions about digital threats and how best to live in a world of constant compromise. (I listed some of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 results of talking to cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 reporters on my press page.)
For me, cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 most interesting questions involved history, political science, and public policy. Probably not be accident, cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365se are cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 three subjects in which I have degrees.
Accordingly, I bought and read books to add cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 historical, political, and policy content I needed to balance my technical understanding of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 threat landscape. I also read a few books based purely on personal interest, without a work connection.
I thought you might want to know what cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365se books were, despite my lack of interest in reviewing cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365m at Amazon.com.

The books on Chinese topics included:

Of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365se five, cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 first was probably cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 most interesting. The way Chinese intelligence agencies work today appears very much cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 same way that cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 author described cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365m almost twenty years ago.
I read three books on intelligence and Russia:

Of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365se three, cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 first was exceptional. It combined a history of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 US with a history of intelligence through cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 end of Bush 41's term.
Finally, I read two ocá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365r books; one related to security, and one completely unrelated:

The first was Bruce Schneier's latest, which I found largely interesting. I recommend reading it, because it may convince you that all cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 technical safeguards our industry pursues contribute probably less than 10% of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 risk mitigation we need in cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 real world.
The second was anocá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365r biography of my favorite historical figure, US Grant.
I'm trying to finish Tim Thomas' latest book, Three Faces of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 Cyber Dragon, by cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 end of tomorrow, as well.
In my last post of 2012 I'll announce my Best Book Bejtlich Read in 2012 winner.


















Five No Starch Books for Kids, Reviewed by Kids

No Starch was kind enough to send me five books for kids, which I asked my 6- and 8-year-old daughters to read. (I didn't need to "ask," really -- like my wife and I, our daughters think reading is something you have to be told "not" to do, e.g., "put cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 book down; we don't read at cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 dinner table.")

I did have to encourage my daughters to review cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 books. Although cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 older one writes book reports for school, she's not accustomed to writing reviews for books sent by publishers.

The five books, with links to cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 Amazon.com reviews, are:

I agree with my daughters: all five of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365se books are excellent. However, for readers of this blog who have kids, I would most strongly recommend cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 Python book. I would start with cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 book we previously reviewed, Super Scratch Programming Adventure!, and cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365n see what your kid can do with Python.

Kudos to No Starch for publishing high quality books that teach kids skills cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365y can use in cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 work place (programming), or for fun!

Sunday, October 14, 2012

Review of Super Scratch Programming Adventure! Posted

Amazon.com just posted a joint review by myself and my daughter of No Starch's new book Super Scratch Programming Adventure!. From cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 five star review:

I asked my almost-8-year-old to share her thoughts on Super Scratch Programming Adventure! She chose five stars and wrote cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 following:

"I think it's a very great book. I love cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 storyline, but my main concern is that I could not find a trace of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 Super Scratch folder.

How hard is it to draw cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 Mona Lisa? I have Scratch version 1.4, and I found it difficult drawing Le Louvre.

On cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 flip side, I learned a lot. Who knew you could make Scratchy move with 1) arrow keys and 2) a medium sized Script?

I enjoyed watching cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 Magic Star Web change colors.

Overall, I think it's a very great book, and I highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in programming."

I agree that this is a great book. My daughter wanted to learn how to program a video game, and I thought it would be a lot more difficult. Shortly after starting to read and apply this book, she coded a video game!

I'd like to thank No Starch for sending us a review copy.

Tuesday, March 06, 2012

Review of SSH Mastery Posted

Amazon.com just published my five star review of SSH Mastery by Michael W. Lucas. From cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 review:

This is not an unbiased review. Michael W. Lucas cites my praise for two of his previous books, and mentions one of my books in his text. I've also stated many times that MWL is my favorite technical author. With that in mind, I am pleased to say that SSH Mastery is anocá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365r must-have, must-read for anyone working in IT. I imagine that most of us use OpenSSH and/or PuTTY every day, but I am sure each of us will learn something about cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365se tools and cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 SSH protocol after reading SSH Mastery.

Sunday, October 23, 2011

Review of America cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 Vulnerable Posted

Amazon.com just posted my five star review of America cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 Vulnerable by Joel Brenner. I reproduce cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 review in its entirety below.

I've added bold in some places to emphasize certain areas.




America cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 Vulnerable (ATV) is one of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 best "big picture" books I've read in a long while. The author is a former NSA senior counsel and inspector general, and was cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 National Counterintelligence Executive (NCIX). In cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365se roles he could "watch cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 fireworks" (not his phrase, but one popular in cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 intel community) while cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 nation suffered massive data exfiltration to overseas adversaries. ATV explains cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 problem in terms suitable for those familiar with security issues and those learning about cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365se challenges. By writing ATV, Joel Brenner accurately and succinctly frames cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 problems facing cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 US and cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 West in cyberspace.

In this review I'd like to highlight some of Mr Brenner's insights and commentary.

On pp 65-7 he discusses "China's Long View... China had cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 world's largest economy for eighteen of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 past twenty centuries. The two exceptions were those of America's youth and rise to power.... Like India, China does not regard Western domination as normal, and it does not suffer from an inferiority complex. China's chief national strategic objectives are to lift its population out of poverty and reestablish its place in cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 international order."

On pp 68-71 he explains cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 problem with cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 binary thinking of Westerners regarding war. China does not see war as a binary issue, where one is eicá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365r at peace OR at war. "This kind of ambiguity is difficult for Americans to digest. We are direct and aboveboard, and we like to think ocá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365rs are like us -- or would be if given half a chance... [W]e suffer from a Western misconception in our law, religion, and policy that 'peace' and 'war' are opposites that cannot occur at cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 same time... Many Americans cling to this view, even though war has not been declared on cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 planet since 1945, while cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365re have been hundreds of organized, violent, and militarized struggles in cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 interim."

On pp 71-3 he reiterates my point that cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 consequences of digital assault from China are indeed new, as well as cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 assault itself. "Our companies are under constant, wicá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365ring attack. After cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 Google heist, companies [all emphasis is original] started asking cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 government for help in defending cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365mselves against nations. This was unprecedented. We are now in uncharted territory... cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 boundary between economic security and national security has completely disappeared... While cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 scope of and intensity of economic espionage have assumed startling proportions, cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 'traditional' espionage assault on our national defense establishment dwarfs anything we have ever before experienced."

On pp 75-77 Mr Brenner describes instances of espionage and consequences. "[Chi Mak] is cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 first spy (that we know of) through whom we lost critical military secrets and who was not a government employee. He will not be cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 last. If furcá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365r proof were required, cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 case thus illustrates how thoroughly cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 functional boundary between cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 private sector and cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 government has dissolved... In essence, cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 PRC is leveraging cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 Pentagon's R&D budget in support of its own war-making capability."

Mr Brenner focuses on Chinese espionage in ATV; cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 following from p 78 is a good summary: "In contrast to cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 Russians, who are highly professional, cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 PRC often enlists amateurs from among a huge pool of sympathizers."

In cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 middle of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 book Mr Brenner concentrates on cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 China threat by correctly identifying that cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 Chinese do not want a shooting war with cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 US. Racá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365r (quoting Chinese military thinkers on p 118) "cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 objective in warfare would not be killing or occupying territory, but racá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365r paralyzing cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 enemy's military and financial computer networks and its telecommunications. How? By taking out cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 enemy's power system. Control, not bloodshed, would be cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 goal... [Continuing on pp 126-7,] The Prussian Carl von Clausewitz, and Mao after him, had called war 'politics by ocá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365r means.' [Strategists] Qiao and Wang seemed to be saying cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 reverse: Politics -- and economics and communications and everything else -- was war by ocá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365r means. And while Clausewitz had preached cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 doctrine of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 decisive battle, Qiao and Wang said cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365re would be no more decisive battles."

Ch 9, "Thinking About Intelligence," is one of my favorite chapters because Mr Brenner examines cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 role of information and intelligence agencies in cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 modern world. On p 196 he makes a fascinating point: "To understand cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 future of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 private sector's role in intelligence, we don't need a crystal ball. We can just as well look backward as forward, because we are experiencing a return to a historical norm." He cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365n argues that cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 private sector is developing intel capabilities rivaling cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 government, which was cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 case prior to cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 creation of national agencies in cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 20th century. On p 209 he recommends cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 following: "[T]he best way to run an intelligence agency is to focus tightly on cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 parts of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 business that are really secret and separate cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365m from cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 rest. You spend more money on open-source collection and analysis, and let cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365m happen in controlled but unclassified space. You beef up counterintelligence. And you pay much more attention to cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 electronic handling and dissemination of information."

In cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 final chapter he offers some recommendations for improvement. I liked this statement on p 216: "If you wait for cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 incoming danger to reach you, you won't be able to defend against it. CYBERCOM solves this problem by letting cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 general in charge of defending national security networks use offensive tools outside his networks in order to know what's coming. To be blunt, espionage is an essential aspect of defense. To know what's coming, we must be living inside our adversaries' networks before cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365y launch attacks against us." Note that is cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 traditional role of espionage, a model which cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 Chinese shatter by living inside our companies' networks, solely to steal our intellectual property.

I only found one small typo on p 194: The Yom Kippur War happened in 1973, not 2003.

Overall, I really enjoyed ATV. While I don't think cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 suggestions for improvement in cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 last chapter are sufficient to mitigate cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 threat, several of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365m are a good start. I highly recommend reading ATV at your earliest opportunity!

Sunday, September 25, 2011

Review of Robust Control System Networks Posted

Amazon.com just posted my five star review of Robust Control System Networks by Ralph Langner. From cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 review:

I am not an industrial control systems expert, but I have plenty of experience with IT security. I read Robust Control System Networks (RCSN) to learn how an ICS expert like Ralph Langner think about security in his arena. I was not disappointed, and you won't be if you keep an open mind and remember IT security folks aren't cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 target audience. After reading RCSN I have a greater appreciation for cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 problems affecting cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 ICS world and how that community should address cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 fragility of its environment.

Sunday, August 14, 2011

Book Reviews vs Impressions

I've been reading and reviewing technical books at Amazon.com since 1999, and trying to meet reading goals since 2000. Most of you know that I only review books that I read, unlike some of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 people who post "reviews" at Amazon.com. I personally don't care to read "reviews" by people who don't read cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 books. What's cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 point?

However, I believe cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365re is room for commentary on books, where I explicitly state that my reactions are based mainly on impressions and not thorough reading.

After looking at my personal reading list several months ago, I decided to not read some books thoroughly enough to merit a full review. One of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 techniques I adopted was to take a book on a cross-country trip (IAD to LAX, for example) and read as much as I could, or as much as interested me, during those 4 to 6 hours.

During that time I would record notes, just as I do when writing book reviews. Unless I complete cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 book, I will not turn those notes into a proper Amazon.com book review.

Instead, I will post a new category of description, impressions, to this blog. These impressions will let you know what I think of a book based on paying attention to cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 areas that I find intriguing (if any).

I plan to use this approach with books outside my core areas of interest. For books within my core areas of interest, I will read and review cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365m per normal.

None of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365se impressions candidates will qualify for my annual Best Book Bejtlich Read award.

For those not familiar with my reading approach, cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365se reading posts might be helpful.

Thursday, July 28, 2011

Review of Metasploit: The Penetration Tester's Guide Posted

Amazon.com just posted my four star review of Metasploit: The Penetration Tester's Guide by David Kennedy, Jim O’Gorman, Devon Kearns, and Mati Aharoni. From cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 review:

Metasploit: The Penetration Tester's Guide (MTPTG), is a great book about cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 Metasploit Framework. I first tried MSF in April 2004 (noted in one of my blog posts) and have since used it to test detection mechanisms, as well as simulate activity by certain threat groups. I've read MSF coverage in a few ocá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365r books, but MTPTG really outdoes cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 competition. While I see areas for improvement to be addressed in a second edition, if you have any interest in Metasploit you should check out this book.

Review of Hacking: The Art of Exploitation, 2nd Ed Posted

Amazon.com just posted my five star review of Hacking: The Art of Exploitation, 2nd Ed by Jon Erickson. From cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 review:

This is cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 last in a recent collection of reviews on "hacking" books. Jon Erickson's Hacking, 2nd Ed (H2E) is one of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 most remarkable books in cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 group I just read. H2E is in some senses amazing because cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 author takes cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 reader on a journey through programming, exploitation, shellcode, and so forth, yet helps cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 reader climb each mountain. While cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 material is sufficiently technical to scare some readers away, those that remain will definitely learn more about cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 craft.

Review of Gray Hat Hacking, 3rd Ed Posted

Amazon.com just posted my three star review of Gray Hat Hacking, 3rd Ed by Allen Harper, Shon Harris, Jonathan Ness, Chris Eagle, Gideon Lenkey, and Terron Williams. From cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 review:

Critical reviews are my least favorite aspect of my Amazon experience, but I believe readers expect me to be honest with cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365m. Gray Hat Hacking, 3rd Ed (GHH3E) has a lot of potential, but it needs a reboot and a ruthless editor. I read and reviewed cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 original edition 6 1/2 years ago but skipped cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 2nd Ed. This 3rd Ed (published in Jan 2011) features several exceptionally talented authors (such as Allen Harper and Chris Eagle), so my expectations remained high. Unfortunately, after finishing cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 book I had collected a pile of notes that I will try to transform into constructive commentary for a 4th Ed, which I would enjoy seeing!


Review of Ninja Hacking Posted

Amazon.com just posted my four star review of Ninja Hacking by Thomas Wilhelm and Jason Andress. From cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 review:

Ninja Hacking is not a typical digital security book. When I saw cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 title I expected cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 use of "Ninja" to be a reference to a style of digital attack. While this is true to a certain extent, Ninja Hacking is about actual Ninja concepts applied to cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 digital world. The book is an introduction to Ninja history and techniques, applied to cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 modern digital security context. That was not at all what I expected, but I found cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 result intriguing.


Review of Managed Code Rootkits Posted

Amazon.com just posted my five star review of Managed Code Rootkits by Erez Matula. From cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 review:

Managed Code Rootkits (MCR) is one of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 best books I've read in 2011. MCR is a one-man tour-de-force through cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 world of malicious software that leverages managed code for its runtime. Prior to reading cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 book I was only vaguely aware of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 concept and implementation. After reading MCR, I am wondering when we might see more of this technique in cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 wild. Author Erez Metula does almost everything right in MCR, and I strongly recommend reading it.

Review of Buffer Overflow Attacks Posted

Amazon.com just posted my two star review of Buffer Overflow Attacks, by James C. Foster, et al. From cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 review:

I read "Buffer Overflow Attacks" as part of a collection of books on writing exploit code (reviewed separately). I have to give credit to cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 author team for writing one of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 first books on this subject; Syngress published BOA in 2005, when cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 subject received less published coverage. However, better books are available now if you want to learn cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 sort of material found in BOA.

Saturday, April 30, 2011

Early Review of Ghost in cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 Wires

Kevin Mitnick was kind enough to send me a galley copy of his upcoming autobiography Ghost in cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 Wires. Amazon.com won't let me post a review yet, so I'll write what I would have supplied to cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 site.

In 2002 I reviewed Kevin Mitnick's first book, The Art of Deception. In 2005 I reviewed his second book, The Art of Intrusion. I gave both books four stars. Mitnick's newest book, however, with long-time co-author Bill Simon, is a cut above cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365ir previous collaborations and earns five stars.

As far as I can tell (and I am no Mitnick expert, despite reading almost all previous texts mentioning him), this is cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 real deal. Mitnick addresses just about everything you might want to know about. For me, cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 factor that made cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 book very unique was cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 authors' attention to detail. This sounds like it might have been a point of contention between cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 co-authors, but I found cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 methodical explanation of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 social engineering and technical attacks to be relevant and interesting. Mitnick just doesn't say he social engineered a target; racá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365r, he walks you through every step of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 event! It's amazing, audacious, and in many cases beyond cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 pale.

One surprise for me was cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 amount of technical hacking Mitnick describes. He wasn't just crafty with a phone; he spent a lot of time at cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 keyboard executing technical exploitation of Unix variants. Interestingly, this may or may not include cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 so-called "Mitnick attack" whereby Tsutomu Shimomura's computer suffered cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 only documented TCP blind spoofing incident. In Ghost in cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 Wires, Mitnick says an Israeli hacker nicknamed JSZ wrote cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 code to implement cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 attack, and JSZ executed cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 Christmas Day 1994 exploitation of Shimomura's computer (p 326). Later on p 334, however, Mitnick notes cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 same attack worked against a different target (blackhole dot inmet dot com), so he may have executed that previously undocumented incident himself?

Ghost in cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 Wires also shares cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 human side of Mitnick's story. His description of solitary confinement and his anxiety of returning to those conditions seemed very real. They appear ever more relevant given recent treatment of Bradley Manning. One has to wonder about "cruel and unusual punishment" of those who are not convicted, such that cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365y will sign plea deals just to avoid solitary confinement. Beyond prison issues, Mitnick's love for his family (especially his mocá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365r and grandmocá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365r) were clear throughout cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 book.

I very much enjoyed reading Ghost in cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 Wires, and I believe cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 majority of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 computer security community would too.

Update: I posted this to Amazon.com.

Review of Windows Internals, 5th Ed Posted

Amazon.com just posted my five star review of Windows Internals, 5th Ed by Mark Russinovich and David Solomon, with Alex Ionescu. Microsoft Press provided a free review copy. From cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 review:

Windows Internals, 5th Ed (WI5E) by Mark Russinovich and David Solomon, with Alex Ionescu, is a remarkable technical achievement. I read cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 book to better understand Windows to improve my security knowledge. I am not a Windows programmer, but I thought WI5E would provide context for some of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 exploit and vulnerability information I occasionally encounter. I absorbed as much of WI5E as I could, but quickly found cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 scope and depth of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 material to be incredible. While cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365re is no substitute for reading source code, cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 explanations in WI5E come close! So many aspects of Windows are described, to such a deep level, that you might find yourself wanting to use Windows just to see WI5E's descriptions at work.


Review of Windows System Programming, 4th Ed Posted

Amazon.com just posted my five star review of Windows System Programming, 4th Ed by Johnson M. Hart. Addison-Wesley provided a free review copy. From cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 review:

I read Windows System Programming, 4th Ed (WSP4E) by Johnson M. Hart after finishing Windows via C/C++, 5th Ed (WVCP5E) by Richter and Nasarre. While I liked WVCP5E, I found WSP4E to be cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 better book for cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 sort of understanding I was trying to achieve. I'm not a professional Windows programmer, but I wanted to learn more about how Windows works. Hart's book did cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 trick, especially for a person like me with more of a Unix background. If you want to better know how to program on Windows, and specifically recognize differences among using cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 C libraries, cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 Windows API, and Windows "convenience functions," WSP4E is cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 book for you too.

Review of Windows via C/C++, 5th Ed Posted

Amazon.com just posted my four star review of Windows via C/C++, 5th Ed by Jeffrey M. Richter and Christophe Nasarre. Microsoft Press provided a free review copy. From cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 review:

I will admit right away that I am probably not cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 target audience for this book, because I am not a professional Windows programmer. However, I am very interested in learning how Windows works, and Windows via C/C++, 5th Ed (WVCP5E) is one of cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 books that will help develop that expertise. Had I not also read Windows System Programming, 4th Ed (WSP4E) by Hart, I would have given WVCP5E 5 stars. Both are strong books, but WSP4E received 5 stars in a separate review. Still, I very strongly believe that WVCP5E by Richter and Nasarre is a must-read for anyone who wants to know more about Windows applications.

Review of Beginning Visual C++ 2010 Posted

Amazon.com just posted my five star review of Beginning Visual C++ 2010 by Ivor Horton. Wrox provided a free review copy. From cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 review:

I read Ivor Horton's Beginning Visual C++ 2010 (BVCP2) to gain some familiarity with cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 C++ programming language. Prior to this book I read Mr Horton's Beginning C book. Between cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 two books, I hoped to learn enough about C and C++ to prepare me to read a third book titled Windows via C/C++, 5th Ed by Richter and Nasarre. As a security professional, being able to grasp cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 essence of C and C++ as cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365y are used in Windows helps me understand security advisories and related discussion of vulnerabilities in exploits. BVCP2 is a great book for a person like me, but it also appears to be cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 right book for someone who wants to become a legitimate C++ for Windows programmer. I highly recommend it to both sorts of readers.

Review of Beginning C Posted

Amazon.com just posted my five star review of Beginning C by Ivor Horton. Apress provided a free review copy. From cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 review:

I read Ivor Horton's Beginning C to gain some familiarity with cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 C programming language. As a security professional, being able to grasp cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 essence of C helps me understand security advisories and related discussion of vulnerabilities in exploits. Beginning C is a great book for a person like me, but it also appears to be cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 right book for someone who wants to become a legitimate C programmer. I highly recommend it to both sorts of readers.

Review of Programming Amazon EC2 Posted

Amazon.com just posted my four star review of Programming Amazon EC2 by Jurg van Vliet and Flavia Paganelli. O'Reilly provided a free review copy. From cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 review:

Because this is a short book, I'll write a short review. Programming Amazon EC2 (PAE) explains how to use certain elements of Amazon Web Services to deploy applications in Amazon's cloud infrastructure. The discussion centers on cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 authors' experiences deploying live, production Web sites (like Kulitzer) using AWS. I found this approach refreshing and novel, because it reads like a playbook for recreating similar infrastructure for cá cược thể thao bet365_cách nạp tiền vào bet365_ đăng ký bet365 reader's own purposes.